Graduate Student Council

The Western Space Graduate Students’ Council provides a means of bidirectional communication between participating graduate students and the Western Space Executive Council. The student's council is comprised of a senior leadership team consisting of a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary, each of whom serves for a one-year term. Each Western Space-linked department is represented by a member of the council for a period of one year. The council actively seeks to create a sense of community amongst students emanating from a variety of departments across campus by organizing various social gatherings enabling graduate students from the different departments to meet in a non-academic setting.

The 2019/2020 Council members are:

 Chimira Andres

Chimira Andres

Council Executive: President

Biography: Chimira Andres is a M.Sc. student with the Department of Earth Sciences and the Centre for Planetary Science and Exploration. Her research focuses on the topics of planetary and periglacial geology, glacial sedimentology, and landsystem analyses, mapping, and modelling with implications to Earth-Mars analogs.
William  Yingling

William Yingling

Council Executive: Vice President

Leah  Sacks

Leah Sacks

Council Executive: Secretary

Josh Hedgepeth

Josh Hedgepeth

Council Executive: Treasurer

Alexis Pascual

Alexis Pascual

Council Executive: Project Liason

Nikol  Posnov

Nikol Posnov

Council Executive: Social Events

Matt Svensson

Matt Svensson

Department Rep: Earth Science

Bryan Southwell

Department Rep: Engineering

Patrick Persaude

Department Rep: Physics and Astronomy